William & Mary

Alma mater of the Nation

William & Mary is a public university located in Williamsburg, Virginia. Founded by Royal Charter in 1693, it is the second oldest institution of higher learning in the country. William & Mary has a long history of liberal arts education and a growing research and science curriculum that demonstrates a strong commitment to undergraduate research. The school has a student body of approximately 8,500 students with a 12-to-1 student-faculty ratio.

U.S. News and World Report ranks the university sixth among all public universities in the country. Known as “the alma mater of the nation,” William & Mary has educated three American presidents:  Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe and John Tyler — with George Washington serving as its first American chancellor.